Aqua-Bound posi-lok vs. snap button touring paddle

Discussion in 'Gear Talk' started by dmon707, May 23, 2019.

Tags:
  1. dmon707

dmon707 Paddler

Does anyone have experience with the new(ish) posi-lok paddles from Aqua-Bound? I like the idea of corrosion free paddles, but worry about losing a paddle part while paddling at sea. I always use 4-part paddles so that they will fly with my Feathercraft. I have to treat the extra snap button joints at the blades with special care after trips to keep the metal from corroding (Boe-shield T-9), but snap button joints don't separate accidentally.

2. JohnAbercrombie

JohnAbercrombie Paddler

I have no experience with the Posi-Lok, so can't answer your question.
    A few thoughts:
    Like the Werner ferrule, it seems that the Posi-Lok allows 15 degree increments in the 'feather angle'.

With the snap button, it's usually straight or 60 degrees left or right as the choices.

So, if you paddle with zero feather, the button is still probably the simpler choice, IMO.

Snap buttons (the standard ones) are stainless and easily replaceable, but a bit of lengthwise and radial 'wiggle' is common. Snap button paddles can usually be shortened if you are a DIY-er.

In the Posi-Lok video, the Aquabound spokesman makes a point of stating that there's no lengthwise or radial movement.
    However, in my experience, it's the 'bending' movement that's more of a problem. I recently repaired a friend's Werner where the wall of the tube had been worn right through at the ferrule end, on the side facing the paddler, through hundreds of thousands of small movements.

For the center ferrule, I don't understand why it's (almost) only wing paddles that have the length and angle easily adjustable, with a very secure wiggle-proof fastener. Some of the Lendal paddles had length and angle adjustable, but the lock requires a hex key to remove the last of the 'play' in the connector.