Loreto, Baja (or, it is not always about paddling)

Discussion in 'Trip Reports' started by Peter-CKM, Mar 13, 2019.

1. Peter-CKM

Peter-CKM Paddler

Went for a week on a sea kayaking and whales trip in Baja centered out of Loreto. Trip was a guided tour run by Sea Trek (http://www.seatrek.com/portfolio/classic-islands-with-whale-watching/). Full disclosure - I work as a guide/instructor for Sea Trek in the States, but went as a paying customer (though at a significant discount) on this trip.

Paddling was not extreme. Maybe cover 4-7 miles in a day. That gave us afternoon to snorkel, hike, whale watch, etc. We had a panga (Mexican boat) carrying our gear and the trip was fully supported. Even had a couple of SUPs on the panga to play with. Day temps were above 20C/70F, so a pleasant change from NorCal winter (and huge change from what you BC folks are dealing with...).

Going to do less story and more just showing off photos and videos. To start, here are a couple of videos - Gray whale spy hopping:

Dolphins Porpoising in front of one of our camp beach:

And here are the first 2 images - can you tell what we are looking at?

Image 1: whatisit1.JPG

Image 2:
    whatisit2.JPG

More images to come.

2. Peter-CKM

Peter-CKM Paddler

Land-based photos:

Cardon Cactus
    Desert-CardonCactus.JPG

Scorpion and hermit crab. Hand placed to show size. We are aiming a black light at the scorpion, which makes them glow. Desert-scopion&hermitcrab2.JPG

Sunrise Desert-sunrise1.JPG

Sunrise lighting up the hills Desert-sunrise2.JPG

3. Peter-CKM

Peter-CKM Paddler

And some underwater pics:

Clarinet fish
    snorkeling-clarinetfish.JPG

Eel peaking out from under rock snorkeling-eel.JPG

School of fish. Yellow ones are called sergeant majors. The orange tail guy may be a king angelfish. snorkeling-schooloffish.JPG

Scorpion fish snorkeling-scorpionfish.JPG

sunflower star snorkeling-sunflowerstar.JPG

4. Peter-CKM

Peter-CKM Paddler