• We apologize for the somewhat convoluted sign-up process. Due to ever-more sophisticated attacks by chatbots, we had to increase our filtering in order to weed out AI while letting humans through. It's a nuisance, but a necessary one in order to keep the level of discourse on the forums authentic and useful. From the actual humans using WCP, thanks for your understanding!

wood s&g or sof?

Stumpy

Paddler
Anyone have a preference between a wood s&g kayak or skin on frame? I've been looking at the kayaks at yostwerks.com and am re-thinking my prefernce for the wood yak. Skin on frame seems cheaper, easier, and quicker to build, and, with a bit of care as to what I beach it on, should hold up well for my purposes, but I have no experience with type of boat, so I was wondering if anyone knew a dark side to sof that I'm not anticipating?

Building

Salutations from the midcoast,

Included is a shot of the shop...

I'm building my first S&G, (tape & glue) it only had a dozen stiches. I have built(re) three SOFs. You can see a couple off to the side, one is getting new hide, sometime :roll:

The construction methodolgys are opposite ends of the spectrum for sure. SOF's seem to come together quicker :) . I have built all greenland lines, all pegged & lashed, no nails, no glue.