• We apologize for the somewhat convoluted sign-up process. Due to ever-more sophisticated attacks by chatbots, we had to increase our filtering in order to weed out AI while letting humans through. It's a nuisance, but a necessary one in order to keep the level of discourse on the forums authentic and useful. From the actual humans using WCP, thanks for your understanding!

Barracuda kayaks?

SZihn

Paddler
Hello to all.
I have come to hear about a kayak maker in New Zealand called Barracuda. I looked that the web site and the kayaks are all made with pretty high foredecks with swells directly in front of the cockpit combing. Some early Aleutain kayas were made in that fashon, but most of those made today by just about everyone are not so high. Being a newbie, I have no personal opinion about it.
I am wondering if anyone out there reading this has had any experience with barracuda brand kayaks.

From the photos on their website, they look a little bit like the EddieLine Fathom you were/are considering. Though there are features that are effective in the lab, some of these subtle, or not so subtle characteristics may not come as much into play on open water. For example, I seldom have water wash over my deck. If it does, it makes for an exhilarating change on a normally dry paddle. The high deck could be a preferred feature for those with a larger foot size. Kayaks taper in various amounts towards the bow; some are so short at the peddle location that size 11 or greater feet have a fit problem. I’m built a bit like you - too much time running up sand dunes on the Oregon coast to get in shape for football. I’ve tried out some kayaks where the cockpit was so low I could barely fit my thighs in.

Unless you’ve been in the brand before, I’d stick with a boat you can sit in first. Like I’d buy a Mariner without sitting in it because I know Mariners. But I would not buy a Tide Racer or Epic or Sterling unless I had a chance to sit in it and preferably paddle it.