• We apologize for the somewhat convoluted sign-up process. Due to ever-more sophisticated attacks by chatbots, we had to increase our filtering in order to weed out AI while letting humans through. It's a nuisance, but a necessary one in order to keep the level of discourse on the forums authentic and useful. From the actual humans using WCP, thanks for your understanding!

Slack tide length

JensVS

I'm new to sea kayaking and trying to figure out exactly how to read the slack tides. My understanding is that slack lasts about 2.5-3 hours after tide max and min. Am I missing anything? We're planning a test trip up Indian Arm and an August trip through the Gulf Islands.

Depending on the location, the relationship between high and low water (high tide, low tide) and current (max flood, slack, max ebb) can be either simple or perplexing! :)
'Around here' -Gulf Islands/Victoria for me - sometimes it just doesn't seem to make sense - I still find it confusing.
I try to check for Current Stations and Secondary Stations (in the Tables) and get current info from there, if possible. Sometimes slack water in passes/passages can last for only a few minutes.

It's not the case that slack current persists for 2.5 – 3 hours. Slack current generally persists for a much shorter time than that, perhaps only a few minutes in some places. Rather, it's the case that slack current lags behind high or low tide by a few hours. So if there is a low tide at noon, that doesn't mean there will be slack current at noon. Instead, slack current will come later, perhaps around 1:00 or 2:00.

The relationship between currents (flood, ebb, and slack) and tides (high, low) is something that is best learned visually. I recommend going to deepzoom.com. Click on a yellow square tide station, so you can see a graph of the tide. Then press play so you can watch the arrows that show the current.

Here's an example, comparing a current station in Rosario Strait to a tide station in nearby Strawberry Bay.